Browse Categories
Products
All product reviews will be posted as long as they are written in a clean and proffesional manner.

GI ProStart

GI ProStartâ„¢ yogurt starter produces dairy free yogurt composed of three vital strains of probiotics which are well known for their health promoting benefits. ProStartâ„¢ can be used to culture just about any type of milk, including cow, goat, soy and nut.

Product Reviews

(13 Ratings, 8 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
best starter available
Dominick (Arlington, MA) 9/22/2015 8:06 AM
#1 - Ive been using this starter for almost two years and make 4 gallons of yogurt a month for family consumption. It is by far the most consistent starter Ive used and I cant say enough good things about the yogurt it makes. Nice thick structure, great creamy taste, nice zip, but a mild presence thats not overpowering. #2 - It lasts and remains potent for well over a year, so I never worry about it die off in the refrigerator like other starters. #3 - This yogurt has played a large role in taking my digestion from about about a 3 to an 8. I spent years going to doctors, and finally got fed up with the lack of effort and failure to find a solution to my problems. Along with a whole food, animal fat, and "what my great grandmother ate" diet, this yogurt is my breakfast daily. This yogurt will improve your digestive ability and your quality of life. I highly recommend it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Naturopath/Clinical Nutritionist/Educator
David Getoff, CCN, CTN, FAAIM (San Diego County California) 3/5/2013 4:56 PM
This is a great product! A patient brought me a jar of thick Raw Goat Milk Kefir that she had made, and I immediately bought a bottle of gi Pro Health to make some myself. I use RAW Grass Fed cows milk and I warm it to room temperature. Add 1/8th teaspoon of the starter to some of the milk, as they recommend, and after it is well mixed with a whisk, I add more room temperature milk to make 2 quarts. Then I pour it into four 16 ounce glass jars and put them in my Excalibur dehydrator on the bottom shelf, set it for 105 degrees and 10 to 12 hours. Voila! it is done and goes into the fridge. The top has a layer of cream since I use raw milk and it is fabulous. Much better than any other starter I have used. Highly recommended. Sincerely, David Getoff www.Naturopath4you.com
ratingratingratingratingrating
Unique Yogurt
Paula (Lake Elsinore, CA) 11/4/2011 1:02 AM
I have never tasted yogurt like this. The flavor is very unique. The L. casei has a very interesting flavor and aroma. The yogurt is not tart but is just slightly tangy after 24 hours of fermenting. The yogurt is rather mild. It is quite thick when using whole milk (non-homogenized) and even made the goat milk pretty thick. The price is very reasonable for the amount of starter. The starters with L. acidophilus are quite tangy/tart, so this is a good one for people who prefer a mild yogurt.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great product
J (NC) 11/2/2011 1:32 PM
The yogurt made with the starter tastes delicious and is very thick. I make my cow-milk yogurt in a dehydrator and it is so thick, I can turn the cooled yogurt upside down and it won't run out of the jar. Like it says in the instructions, you should cool the milk down to 80F before adding the starter. This is one key to reliable yogurt time after time. I put my pot of milk in a sink full of water with some ice packs to expedite the cooling. My bottle lasted me about a year(just making yogurt for myself). I noticed a slight change in taste as the bottle neared it's expiration date. When I order again, I will keep it in the freezer instead of the refrigerator.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Wow! Best yogurt ever!
RP (Louisville, KY) 9/26/2011 3:58 PM
First, thank you GI ProHealth for the prompt delivery of the GI ProStart yogurt starter. It came well protected from heat in the chilled styrofoam clam shell. It makes a deliciously thick, creamy, mild yogurt that isn't nearly as tart as other yogurt starters containing L. Acidophilus. The L. Casei strain is a good one -- well researched and shown to have many beneficial effects. You can't beat the value. Only 1/8th of a teaspoon makes 2 quarts of yogurt. Sprinkling the started over the surface of the warm milk and waiting a bit will help disperse and dissolve it and keep it from gelling together. Haven't attempted any non-cow's milk yogurts yet, but I'm sure my wife (who is sensitive to cow's milk) will have me making some soon. Thanks again!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Gluten-Free & Casein-Free Blogger
Lexie's Kitchen (U.S.) 7/27/2011 12:41 AM
Great product! I use it with nut and seed milks ... almond to hemp to cashew and get great results. I ferment 8-10 hours and this yields a mild yogurt with an ever so slight tang. Thinking I could save a little money I tried using multi-dophilus capsules as a starter and the results were strange and off. I feel better using a mixture of probiotics formulated specifically for yogurt making. One bottle goes a long way. I would suggest using it up within a year (I keep mine in the freezer now). My last bottle slowly "died" and my yogurt was coming out funky and I had to toss a couple batches... I couldn't figure out what it was. Turns out it was just old.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Mom of 14 yo girl
MP (UK) 7/13/2010 5:14 PM
I must say the Prostart is the best culture I have used. My daughter, now 14 years old has been free of any Crohns symptoms for 2 years now (using your culture and SCD) I am about to introduce the Prostart and the SCdophilus to another family in the London area. I hope it will turn out to be a life saver for their little girl too.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Adult
L Martins (Providence, RI) 6/13/2010 8:06 PM
I love the GI ProStart yogurt starter. Ive made it with goats milk and it came out great. I eat it with fresh fruit and love the results. Thank You L Martins
page1
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty.
Mailing Lists